MERKEL POLICE DEPARTMENT
Online Police Report Submission
Filing a False Police Report in Texas. Texas Penal Code Section 37.08. Filing a false report under Section 37.08 is a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000.
*Filing a false report about a missing child or missing person is a Class C offense, punishable by fine only.